HADC / Housing Choice Voucher Program 

FALL 2014
 

family fun

INSPECTIONS

Notice!

For RTAs issued after June 1, 2014, the Housing Authority of DeKalb County (HADC) will no longer reopen initial inspection requests for the following situations:

  • two failed inspections, 
  • failure to respond to a scheduled inspection request within 5 days from the submission of request for tenancy approval, 
  • utilities off at the time of an inspection, or 
  • the unit is not move in ready when the inspector arrives.
Voucher holders will need to locate a new unit and submit a new RTA in these situations.

Coming Soon

https://www.dekalbhousing.org

The HADC will begin implementing biennial (every 24 month) inspections, beginning in the Fall of 2014. VASH participants will still have their units inspected annually.  

The HADC will phase in this process to determine what units will be inspected this year and what units will be inspected next year.  All participants and owners will continue to receive inspection notices by mail to inform them if an inspection is to be completed for the unit.

The HADC will still perform initial inspections prior to executing a HAP contract and on an interim basis when requested by a participating family or government official. 


Federal Laws Everyone Should Know
VAWA (Violence Against Women Act)

The Violence Against Women Act states, in part, that criminal activity directly relating to domestic violence, dating violence, or stalking, engaged in by a member of a client's household or any guest or other person under the client's control, shall not be cause for termination of assistance, tenancy, or occupancy rights if the client or an immediate member of the client's family is the victim or threatened victim of that abuse. The law also provides that an incident or incidents of actual or threatened domestic violence, dating violence, or stalking will not be construed as serious or repeated violations of the lease by the victim or threatened victim of that violence and will not be "good cause" for termination of the assistance, tenancy, or occupancy rights of a victim of such violence.

CLICK HERE TO LEARN MORE ▸

 

The Federal Fair Housing Act

The Federal Fair Housing Act protects seven classes from discrimination in housing, including: race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability and familial status. The Fair Housing Act also requires housing providers to make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities. A reasonable accommodation is a change in rules, policies, practices, or services so that a person with a disability will have an equal opportunity to use and enjoy a dwelling unit or common space. A housing provider should do everything they can to assist, but they are not required to make changes that would fundamentally alter the program or create an undue financial and administrative burden. Reasonable accommodations may be necessary at all stages of the leasing process, including application, tenancy, or to prevent eviction.

Looking For A Unit To Rent?
Try The Following Websites

www.craigslist.org
www.hotpads.com
www.Socialserve.com 
www.georgiahousingsearch.org


family fun

Family Self Sufficiency (FSS)

When opportunity knocks, will you answer? If so, the Family Self Sufficiency (FSS) Program is for you! With the help of our staff and HADC's partners, you and your family, while still on our Housing Choice Voucher Program, will be connected to supportive services to assist you in completing your goals.

Visit our website at www.dekalbhousing.org to download a letter of interest. You may submit the form in person or by email to FSS@dekalbhousing.org. Once you have returned the letter of interest, you will be scheduled for an orientation and will need to submit an application. Next, you will attend an appointment with the FSS Coordinator who will assist you in identifying the services needed to reach your goal of self-sufficiency.

The HADC staff will make referrals to our partners for supportive services and monitor your progress. For more information, visit our website to read the FSS Action Plan.


family fun

Full Case Management

The HADC is moving to a full case management model for all participating voucher holders. The case manager for each client will become their direct point of contact for any assistance that a voucher holder needs. This process is taking effect for all participating families beginning October 1, 2014. A letter will be sent to each participating family informing them of the name of their caseworker. The chart below is the case load assignment for all participating families. It includes the names, phone numbers, and email addresses of all of the HCV Caseworkers, Supervisors and Team Leads. Please refrain from contacting your assigned caseworker until you have received your letter.

Contact Information
HOUSING CHOICE VOUCHER
Supervisor Case Load Email Extension
Constance Smith   Constance.Smith@dekalbhousing.org 404-270-2642
Team Lead      
Brandii Hollin   Brandii.Hollin@dekalbhousing.org 404-270-2607
Valencia Jordan   Valencia.Jordan@dekalbhousing.org 404-270-2613
Specialist      
Dwantia Starks A - Childress Dwantia.Starks@dekalbhousing.org 404-270-2621
Kim Evans Childs - Gray Kim.Evans@dekalbousing.org 404-270-2528
Orlentra Bearden Grayer - S. Jones Orlentra.Bearden@dekalbhousing.org 404-270-2584
Chiana Manley T. Jones - Omar  Chiana.Manley@dekalbousing.org 404-270-2529
Jamillah Monroe O'Neal - Steele Jamillah.Monroe@dekalbousing.org 404-270-2659
Natasha Brown Stephens - Z Natasha.Brown@dekalbhousing.org 404-270-2508
PORTIBILITY
Supervisor Case Load Email Extension
Sabrina Lockhart  

Sabrina.Lockhart@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2630

Team Lead      
Kristen Evans-Smith  

Kristen.Smith@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2527

Administrative 
Assistance

     
Kewanna Jordan  

Kewanna.Jordan@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2615
Specialist      
Joyce Ferguson A-Ford

Joyce.Ferguson@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2640
Marshelle Davis Ford-Ly

Marshelle.Davis@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2637

Renee Washington Ma-She

Renee.Washington@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2568

Monique Carey Shi-Z

Monique.Carey@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2570

SPECIAL PROGRAMS
Supervisor Case Load Email Extension
Nichole Adams  

Nichole.Adams@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2620

Team Lead      
Renee Bonds  

Renee.Bonds@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2524

Specialist      
Dacia Dickey  

Dacia.Dickey@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2592

Mckinley Jeter  

Mckinley.Jeter@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2557

Juan Kinshasa

VASH

Juan.Kinshasa@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2526

Joan Roberts

Project Based

Joan.Roberts@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2657

Ayesha Sullivan

Home Ownership & FSS

Ayesha.Sullivan@dekalbhousing.org

404-270-2511